The Booket List Episode 12: A Hero’s Journey

Sup peeps! This week on The Booket List, Brennan tells us all about the Hero’s Journey. We learn about all the different tropes and motifs of the theme, and how it pertains to this months read Elantris. Beware though, Kimmy doesn’t know nearly as much about this stuff as she thought so half the time she talks she gets corrected. Chris is full of wise cracks and silly joke just as always. Listen in to hear more of this weeks shenanigans on The Booket List!

The Booket List Episode 6: “Good As Gone” By Amy Gentry

This week on The Booket List, Kimmy introduces a new host to the show. Brennan!! We learn a bit about Brennan and all his reading interests.  After that we launch right into introducing October’s Book “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry, If you would like to purchase it you can do that here. We are all excited, well most of us are. Kimmy has a distaste for anything remotely scary. You can read up on the blurb down below and head on over to our facebook page to tell us what you expectations are for October’s read!

Blurb for “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts.  She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.

 

The Booket List Episode 5: “Modern Lovers” by Emma Straub

This week on The Booket List, Kimmy and Chris discuss September’s Book Club Book “Modern Lovers” by Emma Straub. We’ll talk about our opinions of Straub’s writing, what our expectations were for the book and if they were met, and we’ll talk all about our favorite aspects of this excellent read.

This podcast is full of spoilers! For our spoiler-free review, check out this post on The Geekwave.

October’s book will be “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry! You can find it on Amazon. If you want to join our book club you can find us at facebook.com/kutethebooketlist.

The Booket List Episode 4: Libraries or Ebooks?

 

Yo, friends!

This week on The Booket List Chris and Kimmy talk about what a sad soul can do when they don’t have easy access to books. We’d love to hear what you do when getting to the library is tough. If you don’t have a solution yourself, give us a listen to hear ours. Also, have you ever picked up a book with certain expectations, and had them completely demolished or a book just completely throw you for a loop? What do you do? Head over to our Facebook Page and tell us all about your experiences.  Lastly, don’t forget to join us  next week for our discussion of Modern Lovers!

If you have any comments, suggestions, or just want to contact us you can email us at either K.workman@dailyutahchronicle.com or c.swensen@dailyutahchronicle.com

Peace Out Peeps!

The Booket List Episode 1 – “All the Birds in the Sky” by Charlie Jane Anders

Sup Peeps!

Welcome to the first week of The Booket List. We are so very excited for you all to be listening to podcast and reading our blogs! We can’t wait to meet and interact with new people as the podcast grows.  In this week’s podcast we talk about our reasons behind starting The Booket List, and what our visions for it are. After that we dive right into last month’s Book, which was All the Birds in the Sky, by Charlie Jane Anders.  Word of caution, if you are planning on reading this book do not listen to the discussion in the podcast, it is far too ridden with spoilers. Instead go check out Chris’ SPOILER FREE REVIEW. We hope you enjoy the conversation. Feel free to voice your own opinion by commenting on the Podcast! If you have and questions or comments feel free to contact us at k.workman@kuteradio.org or c.swensen@kuteradio.org.

Till next week!

  • Kimmy and Chris