The Booket List Episode 27: Introducing Farewell To Arms!

Hey everyone! On this week’s episode of The Booket List everyone is in studio, plus one guest! It’s also our first dive into April’s book of the Month, Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway! It’s a classic literary fiction novel that you’ve probably read at some point, but this month you can go back and reread with The Booket List. We’re all super excited to read it for the month of April! We talk a bit about the Literary Fiction genre, and share some stories of our exposure to the genre. Which let’s face it, all come from the good old high school days. Which for Brennan…. was last year. Freshman. Way to make us feel old right? What are you’re first impressions of Farewell to Arms? Do you have any good Literary Fiction novels you want to recommend to us? Hit us up on Facebook!

Sports Saloon March 27th – Lavar Ball vs The World

On this episode of the Sports Saloon, hosts Damon Ngo and Bennett Johnson address some of the most pertinent stories in Utah sports. Topics discussed include the NCAA Final Four, the Utah Jazz’s team chemistry, the LeBron vs Michael Jordan vs Lavar Ball debate, and Utah football pro day. In addition, at the end of the podcast, Damon and Bennett talk about their upcoming work with Utah Softball.

Music by B.L.B.P.

 

 

The World Around You Interview: Representative Chavez-Houck

Today we’ve got a special extra episode and our first interview! The World Around You sat down with Representative Chavez-Houck, representing the University of Utah Fort Douglas area. We chatted about her path to the State House, her time here at the U, and what she’s currently working on.

We also talked about how to become involved as a citizen. Anyone can make their voice heard, even at the State Capitol and beyond! Representative Chavez-Houck is holding a special town hall at the Intermountain LDS Hospital, along with State Senators and Representatives from most of Salt Lake City this Saturday, February the 4th! If you’d like to meet with and talk to your local representatives, head there Saturday at 1 pm.

Thanks to Synthis for the intro and outro song today.

Download the episode here or listen below!

The Booket List Episode 11: What You Readin’?

This week on The Booket List, our three hosts talk all about what they are reading. Brennan is keeping up with his fan-fictions, and reading Elantris. Chris is reading his norm, lots of Tolkien. Kimmy? She’s reading the bane of the boys existence, Young Adult novels. What are you reading this month? Find our episode post on Facebook, and let us know!

The Booket List Episode 10: Introducing “Elantris”!

This week on The Booket List, Brennan, Chris, and Kimmy talk about the new November Read “Elantris” by Brandon Sanderson.  Both Chris and Brennan are well versed in the world of high fantasy. They tell us all about the genre, what we can expect from November’s Read, and each host talks about their favorite high fantasy read.

Have you ever read Elantris? Tell us your opinion over on Facebook! If you haven’t read it, you can tell us what your first impression is as you read it with us this month!

The Booket List Episode 6: “Good As Gone” By Amy Gentry

This week on The Booket List, Kimmy introduces a new host to the show. Brennan!! We learn a bit about Brennan and all his reading interests.  After that we launch right into introducing October’s Book “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry, If you would like to purchase it you can do that here. We are all excited, well most of us are. Kimmy has a distaste for anything remotely scary. You can read up on the blurb down below and head on over to our facebook page to tell us what you expectations are for October’s read!

Blurb for “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts.  She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.

 

The Booket List Episode 5: “Modern Lovers” by Emma Straub

This week on The Booket List, Kimmy and Chris discuss September’s Book Club Book “Modern Lovers” by Emma Straub. We’ll talk about our opinions of Straub’s writing, what our expectations were for the book and if they were met, and we’ll talk all about our favorite aspects of this excellent read.

This podcast is full of spoilers! For our spoiler-free review, check out this post on The Geekwave.

October’s book will be “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry! You can find it on Amazon. If you want to join our book club you can find us at facebook.com/kutethebooketlist.