The Booket List Episode 11: What You Readin’?

This week on The Booket List, our three hosts talk all about what they are reading. Brennan is keeping up with his fan-fictions, and reading Elantris. Chris is reading his norm, lots of Tolkien. Kimmy? She’s reading the bane of the boys existence, Young Adult novels. What are you reading this month? Find our episode post on Facebook, and let us know!

The Booket List Episode 9: Discussion of “Good As Gone”

Hey peeps,

This week on The Booket List, Kimmy and Brennan have a discussion about October’s read “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry. If you haven’t read, and are planning to beware there are SPOILERS! However, don’t feel left out, read below or hit up thegeekwave.com for Brennan’s Spoiler Free Review. Over all we really enjoyed “Good As Gone” and would recommend it to anyone looking for a not so scary but still suspenseful read!  Also, we announced next months book, “Elantris” by Brandon Sanderson. Warning, it’s long. Kimmy did not realize this before hand. So, if 650 pages is almost too long for you too, stick with it! It’s going to be great! At least, we think so!

Let us know what your opinion of October’s Read was over on our facebook!

Till next week, peace out peeps!

The Booket List Episode 8: Halloween Reads!

Hey Everyone!

This week on The Booket List Kimmy and Brennan talk about their favorite Halloween time reads. Which are not horror, or thriller, or really anything remotely Halloween themed. Or so we thought, turns out Brennan really loves to read about Non-Fiction serial killer stuff. If you want to lose faith in humanity you can check out Deviant by Harold Schechter here. If you are more of the Young Adult cheesy alien fiction (that may or may not have some awful romance in it, since apparently all YA Romances suck…) you can check out The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout here.

I mean look at these book covers.

 

featuredimage

Now tell me, would you rather read a book with a creepy dude’s face on it? Or a book with half a girl’s face and an upside down dude in a hoodie?

Well, when I look at them side by side they look equally as weird. So we’ll leave it to genre preference. YA Paranormal Book, pick the upside down dude. Non-fiction retelling of Serial Killer, the creepy dude would be perfect for you.

 

If you have a book that you would recommend before ever touching our reads let us know in the comments on our Facebook post we would love to hear about it!

 

Till next week,

Kimmy & Brennan

The Booket List Episode 7: Comics, Manga, and More!

This week on The Booket List, Kimmy and Brennan have Jarom in the studio to talk about Comics, Manga, Fan Fiction, Poetry and more. To say the least, we get a little sidetracked and barely make it through talking about Comics and Manga! We just have so much to say about both topics. You can read over some of Brennan’s manga recommendations below, and you can read more about CTRL ALT DEL; Jarom’s favorite web comic here. so we’ll be sure to get back to Fan Fiction and Poetry in another episode., because a rushed five minutes was definitely not enough time to fully discuss these other topics!

Brennan’s Manga Recommendations:

Dimension W: “Coils” draw energy from other dimensions, giving limitless energy to humanity. However, they have… side effects, if not regulated strictly.  Our protagonist is a man who goes after illegal coils to seize or destroy them before the effects manifest.

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha—Kono Watashi no Mono Tonare, Yuusha yo Kotowaru: The hero confronts the Demon Queen, only to find they share the same goal—the ending of the decades-long war between demons and humanity. They form a pact to end the war without destroying the twin societies built around it.

ReLIFE: Kaizaki Arata can’t get a job. After he left his first company after only 3 months, nobody’s willing to give him a chance. That’s when the ReLIFE Research Institute gives him an offer—take a drug that returns his appearance to being 17 and retake a year of high school. If he can remedy the mistakes he made the first time around, the Institute promises him a job. But can Kaizaki overcome the demons of his past when confronted with the fears of the future?

 

We hope you enjoyed this week’s episode of The Booket List!

Till next week, peace out peeps!

 

The Booket List Episode 6: “Good As Gone” By Amy Gentry

This week on The Booket List, Kimmy introduces a new host to the show. Brennan!! We learn a bit about Brennan and all his reading interests.  After that we launch right into introducing October’s Book “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry, If you would like to purchase it you can do that here. We are all excited, well most of us are. Kimmy has a distaste for anything remotely scary. You can read up on the blurb down below and head on over to our facebook page to tell us what you expectations are for October’s read!

Blurb for “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts.  She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.

 

The Booket List Episode 5: “Modern Lovers” by Emma Straub

This week on The Booket List, Kimmy and Chris discuss September’s Book Club Book “Modern Lovers” by Emma Straub. We’ll talk about our opinions of Straub’s writing, what our expectations were for the book and if they were met, and we’ll talk all about our favorite aspects of this excellent read.

This podcast is full of spoilers! For our spoiler-free review, check out this post on The Geekwave.

October’s book will be “Good As Gone” by Amy Gentry! You can find it on Amazon. If you want to join our book club you can find us at facebook.com/kutethebooketlist.

The Booket List Episode 4: Libraries or Ebooks?

 

Yo, friends!

This week on The Booket List Chris and Kimmy talk about what a sad soul can do when they don’t have easy access to books. We’d love to hear what you do when getting to the library is tough. If you don’t have a solution yourself, give us a listen to hear ours. Also, have you ever picked up a book with certain expectations, and had them completely demolished or a book just completely throw you for a loop? What do you do? Head over to our Facebook Page and tell us all about your experiences.  Lastly, don’t forget to join us  next week for our discussion of Modern Lovers!

If you have any comments, suggestions, or just want to contact us you can email us at either K.workman@dailyutahchronicle.com or c.swensen@dailyutahchronicle.com

Peace Out Peeps!

The Booket List Episode 3: All About The Hosts!

Sup Peeps!

Welcome to Episode 3 of The Booket List!  This week we start our episode with yet another awkward pause from Chris. First we talk about our favorite books. Chris has a deep love for Tolkien and The Lord of The Rings. Reading them over the summer and for a class this semester? My goodness, that’s a lot of Lord of The Rings. As for me, it’s not possible to give only one book. So I have a list starting with “The Maximum Ride” Series by James Patterson, the classic read of my childhood. We talk about reading and high school for a while, and I have a torturous story about sharing books.

Our next question is, “What do you like to do besides read?”,  Chris likes to play video games, play the guitar, and write stuff. That’s a direct quote. We learn that Both of us really love to play Dungeons and Dragons, and Chris hates running pre-made adventures. Both of us started playing DnD with 3.5 Edition, which is obviously the best Edition. But, not exactly the easiest edition to learn. But, dice rolls can be extremely annoying no matter what edition you play in, thanks to your Dungeon Master (the one that runs the story, for those of you who don’t know). Really though, when you roll a nat 20 to jump over a wall. *face palm*, after our really long tangent into DnD town, we continue on and its my turn to answer. I play the Cello, I like to play video games particularly Halo and The Elder Scrolls games.  Chris gives me some advice on starting the Dark Souls Games. Also, the new Guitar Hero controller is weird, more realistic, but weird. Besides the occasional video game i do spend a lot of time on homework and at work.

My personal favorite question was “What is your favorite book to movie adaptation?” Chris loves The Lord of The Rings movies, but really loathes The Hobbit movies.  I found that really weird, I agree to a point but I still enjoyed The Hobbit movies. Chris really didn’t like when he learned i’ve only seen the Lord Of The Rings movies once. Next up it’s my turn, I talk about loving both the Eragon movie and book as two separate entities, and how awesome the Harry Potter movies are, and remembering how I wished certain things would’ve been great to see. We run of another tangent about our dislike of when people write for money rather than for the art or your love of reading.

Our last question, Chris really doesn’t have an opinion about. And I do, i find it really annoying waiting in between release dates for new books in a series. So I like to wait till a series is finished so i can read it all the way through.

Well, we had a really great time getting to know more about each other this week, if you have any stories or answers you want to share from our questions feel free! We would love to hear from you!

Peace out peeps!

 

-Kimmy